Italian Tiramisù


Good weekend everyone!

Today I had at home my mother and I wanted so much to cook for her! She is the one that made me love food and, just like oldfashioned mothers, she cooks unbelievebly well! So one of my desires since I started cooked seriously, is to let her understand how I love cooking and how I can be good at it. She was kind of a master to me…well…I just ate, so I suppose it does not count as it!

I wanted therefore a dessert that was quick in the preparation and in the meantime a recipe that is so special that it can make the difference between a rookie and a professional chef (and you can guess I’m the rookie one!) I’m naturally far from a talented chef but I surely got some pride and I give my all everytime I cook!

Today’s dessert? Probably the most renowned in the world, so famous that chefs outside Italy began to prepare it better than us! Tiramisu history is a cloudy one and everyone has its idea on the origin.

I found one in internet quite amusing and I wanted to share it!

In the beginning of the 1900 in nothern Italy the “pleasure houses” were quite numerous. People were getting in there for…special services…at almost all times of the day. To avoid the “guests” getting tired after those services they started to offer an espresso to the guests to let them be alive and kicking for the following hours at work or doing anything else. The competition between the “houses” grew and they started to be creative on the after services with coffee and biquits and other ideas, till some Lady invented the Tiramisu, which quickly became renown as a fabolous dessert! I have no idea if it is even barely true, but I love that such a famous recipe could be born from the bottom of our society instead of some great chef!

Ingredients for 3 people (multiply the quantities for more people):

  • 2 eggs – for me from wild bred chickens € 1.39 4 eggs
  • 100 gr of mascarpone cheese – for me Arborea brand € 2.59 for 250 gr
  • 40 gr block of dark chocolate
  • 20 gr di bitter cocoa
  • 4 Fonni ladyfingers – a box of 350 gr for €1.79
  • 1 cup of espresso coffee
  • 75 gr fine powered sugar (vanilla flavoured for who likes)

Let’s start prepring the ingredients first:

wedovode the sugar in 2 parts, we prepare the coffee sweetening to our taste. We take the Fonni Ladyfingers (that practically are bisquits with the same mixture of the sponge cake but a little bit drier) and we cut away the sugared top. We break the eggs separating yolks from whites. We take 2 bowls putting one egg white in the first and 2 yolks in the second. Last we grate in scales the dark chocolate and we keep it in the fridge to avoid melting till the time we will assemble the dessert.

IMG_0359IMG_0363

We whip the white of the egg till it is firm and then we add half of the powdered sugar and continue mixing till it is even and creamy: this is also the preparation of the meringue! Then we whip the yolks and add the remaining sugar, we stop whipping them when they become pale yellow and creamy. We add the mascarpone cheese to the yolks and mix long enough to break all the lumps and make the cream even. Last we add in 3 parts the egg whites mixing with a spatula bottom up with a lot of patience till the cream is even. We can use it with a spoon or with a sac a poche. The last solution is much better since it is easier to measure it and to level it!

IMG_0360IMG_0361IMG_0362

We cut the Fonni ladyfingers to adapt them to the container of the dessert (a mould or a cup), we brush them with a silicon brush with the coffee. Over the bisquit layer we add a layer of cream and then of chocolate scales. We continue layer after layer till the last one is the mascarpone cream. We top the Tiramisu with sift bitter cocoa powder and put it in the fridge for 3 hours. It will keep the cream dense enough to be consistent and keep all the ingredient at the same temperature.

IMG_0365IMG_0366

Fonni ladyfingers are expecially suitable since they remember a lot the sponge cake but with their dryness they give a different consistency to the dessert. Traditional ladyfingers are also harder and more difficult to model in cups or moulds than the oes I used. On top of that it is a typical sardinian bisquit and i cannot avoid using it following my sardinian pride (a cheap pride indeed!).

A simple dessert that, with some skill, can be absolutely fabolous!

Buon Appetito!!

HOW MUCH IS IT? Todays cost per portion is roughly € 0.70! Wonderful value for price!!

Italian TIRAMISU’

2 thoughts on “Italian Tiramisù

  1. Pingback: Tiramisù – Tiramisu « Marito alla Parmigiana

  2. Pingback: Tiramisù « Marito alla Parmigiana

Rispondi

